Ontario Announces Membership of Indigenous Women’s Advisory Council

Ontario has announced the membership of its new Indigenous Women’s Advisory Council. The group will provide input to the Provincial government on issues impacting First Nations communities. The announcement was made on National Indigenous People’s Day.

“For culturally relevant and effective changes to occur in Ontario, Indigenous women must lead the development of our policies so we can truly support their communities,” Associate Minister of Women and Children’s Issues Jill Dunlop said Membership will include representatives of the Metis, First Nations, and LGBTQ2S communities.

It will be co-chaired by Executive Director of the Ontario Native Women’s Association Cora-lee McGuire-Cyrette. “I want to thank Associate Minister Jill Dunlop for this opportunity and her leadership in making this space possible. The Indigenous Women’s Advisory Council is building on the foundational work the province has been leading and the work of the Council is critical to ensuring the issues Indigenous Women face daily will be a priority,” she said.

Other members of the council include:

  • Sylvia Maracle, Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres
  • Sandra Montour, Six Nations of the Grand River
  • Lyndia Jones, Independent First Nations
  • Jennifer St. Germain, Métis Nation of Ontario
  • Teresa Sutherland, Nishnawbe Aski Nation
  • Amanda Kilabuk, Tungasuvvingat Inuit
  • Marina Plain, Union of Ontario Indians/Anishinabek Nation
  • Tracy Antone, Chiefs of Ontario

The group will begin meeting in July.